Words Matter 2011-Day 2 Blog Challenge

What speech or document do you believe to be most important?Words Matter Week 2011 poster from NAIWE.com Why?

I missed day one of Words Matter Week because I didn’t even know such a thing existed! But I’m happily jumping on board to completed today’s prompt.

What a huge, vague question. The first thing that comes to mind is the fact that it’s International Women’s Day today, the 100th anniversary, and there are so many important documents and speeches that have given women rights and freedoms that they were denied. I’ve thankfully never known a world where I couldn’t vote, so I think the Nineteenth Amendment to the US Constitution is a document that I believe to be extremely important.

Susan B Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton wrote the important words in the amendment: The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.

I think those are pretty important, powerful words, don’t you? And on International Women’s Day, during Women’s History Month, I think those words are worth remembering and rereading. You don’t have to be a woman to appreciate how that one sentence began a move towards a world of more equality.

5 thoughts on “Words Matter 2011-Day 2 Blog Challenge”

Leave a Reply

