Words Matter 2011-Day 5 Blog Challenge

Words, like moths, are captured by writers who pin them to the page in various forms. What writer’s work most deftly captivates you? Why?

This one is tough because I’ve been captivated by many, many writers. Lately I’ve been reading a number of books that I just can’t put down. I was up at 2 a.m. last night unable to sleep, and pulled out the book I’m currently reading just because I kept thinking of the stories.

But if I’m only choosing one, I’m going with Sylvia Plath. Maybe being a young woman and liking her has  become a little clichéd, but she’s a writer I will return to over and over again. The Bell Jar captivated me because I knew so much of it was mined from her own life. Her unabridged journals captivated me because they were her unedited words, tracing the ups and downs of her life in a way only she could do. And her poetry captivates me because she was surprising with her words; even listening to recordings of her reading her work is captivating, haunting.

Sylvia Plath is my pick for this challenge: her words have captivated me in fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. More than anything, the woman knew how to use words well.

 

1 thought on “Words Matter 2011-Day 5 Blog Challenge”

Leave a Reply

