Where Writers Write: Jacey Blue Renner

In this week’s edition of Where Writers Write, we get a glimpse into poet Jacey  Blue Renner’s writing space. Jacey and I met in graduate school, and I truly admire her writing. Be sure to check out her blog! And remember, if you’re interested in sharing your space with us, shoot me an email at kristinoffilerwrites@gmail.com. Here’s Jacey!

I like to think that I am a poet first, & writer second.  I have student loans that indicate that I absolutely made the time & effort to improve on this love.  And well, my collection of books that seems to regenerate during the night, would absolutely indicate I am a lover of both poetry & short fiction.

My work has always been about the human narrative, in both the broadest & narrowest sense.  Certainly now, my scope has become focused on the poetic perspective during times of war, but I also have fallen in love with a city that I think & write about daily: nyc.  I think the right space only serves to help mold & grow those writing experiences.  And for me, those preferred space are usually ones that are quiet or if not quiet, visually stunning in some way.

Kristin & I met during graduate school.  And I find her daily to be a source of both kindredness & inspiration, despite our coastal distances.  I thank her often for giving me a push in the right direction that I may not have known I needed.

What is your writing space like? 

If an indie bookstore & a living military archive had a love-child, the result would be my current space.  And I love it.  In our last house, my husband & I had separate working areas (mine was sunshine yellow & overlooked our pond, his was very military centric & looked out across our roses), but in our new home, we had to merge.  The result: a place that gives me a different kind of inspiration.  Given my tendency to write about war & its intimacies as I am growing to know them, it provides a great place of balance.  Read some Lorca, read some Sebastian Junger. Mix accordingly & I get a kind of urban-romantic piece with varying military undertones.

Do you keep a writing routine? If so, what is your routine?

At present, my routine is solely based on observation.  For me, I have to let ideas, images, experiences, & interactions marinate for a spell before I can create with them.  I am always drinking instances in & filtering them for possible use. I do carry a notebook, but I often feel like writing in it in the moment, unless it is a very specific quote or image, takes me out of the space I need to use it later.  And now that I live in a city where I have to drive everywhere (can you imagine?!), it makes it hard to write when I am out (for fear of well, driving into a rogue clown or ferrier).

 What’s something unique and interesting about your writing space?

A few things really:  it is on an Air Force Base, this space is technically meant to be “bulk storage” (we took that to mean “thought storage”), and you will find Walter Lord’s Day of Infamy lounging comfortably next to Hardy’s Tess of The D’Urbervilles.  During the fall I watched the Air Force Thunderbirds do barrel rolls outside my window (that also shook every time they flew by).  My favorite piece within the office is a flag my husband flew on his aircraft during a mission in Afghanistan.  I mean, if that doesn’t kick my arse into productivity, looking on that daily, I may as well pack it in.

 If you could have any writing space in the world, what would it look like and why?

It is really simple.  And as cliché as it may be: any space in NYC that has a few big windows, is in close proximity to a boutique café that has good coffee and baked goods, & is close to a good subway line.  You can’t help but feel exhausted & alive there.  And you don’t mind the exhaustion, because truly, in the morning, your creative hangover is so intense, that you want to do it all over again.  And again. And again.

Jacey Blue Renner received her MFA from Lesley University and is currently working to maintain her creative muscles as a freelance writer and poet. She reads for the literary journal Tidal Basin Review and thinks Tina Fey may actually be the answer to, well everything. Temporarily based in the Southwest she hopes to make it back to her city-love NYC soon.  Read her blog here, jaceybluerenner.blogspot.com.

Thank you for sharing your space with us, Jacey! I’m so intrigued by military life (having just escaped it myself when I married my veteran husband very shortly after he left the Army), and I loved reading about your inspirations and city love. 

What do you guys think of Jacey’s space? And what would your ideal writing space look like? Share in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Where Writers Write: Jacey Blue Renner”

  1. I love your space. I am interested in how your husbands flag, our country’s flag kicks your rear into writing…and where it shows up. It must appear in some poems or short fiction…

    also your writing spaces vary depending on which base you’re on–have you seen it change or shift your writing depending upon how much time you are in one area? I recall poems with sunrises in the background of the car of the sense of leaving a place that you once wrote…I assume you have loved and lived in many spaces how does this affect your work?

    Like

  2. K, thanks! And thank you for your questions. When I see that particular flag (not all flags) I am reminded of the challenges that he faced & had to overcome during the particular mission where that specific flag was flown on his plane. When I think about those things, that country, that mission, then it reminds me that my writing challenges or hesitations are not really comparable. Not to diminish my challenges, but I guess, it helps to remind me of a bigger perspective, especially when I am feeling like I am in a writing slump. And also, then, this perspective appears in my work, A LOT.

    As to the role location plays. I would say, it is immense. Wherever I live tends to heavily influence the backdrop of my writing (well, except where I live now, because I am OVERLY familiar with it). Like Kristin, location is probably the most important component of my current work.

    Like

  3. This was really cool to read! I totally agree with your vision of an ideal space. Big windows = ideal writing space. And is there anything more inspiring than NYC? Once I start rolling in dough I wanna live there.

    I imagine living on an airforce base has to creep into your writing in some interesting ways. I would love to see that! Especially for poetry, right?

    I am trying to think of my ideal writing space and it would have to be at a cafe in a cool city. I love staring out the window and observing people while I work. It’s so inspiring. I always get so tired of my boring office.

    Like

Leave a Reply

