Where Writers Write: Christine Bagley

This week we welcome my good friend, former MFA classmate, and fiction writer Christine Bagley to the Where Writers Write series. We met at Lesley University and have been close writing friends since. Remember– if you want to be featured in the Where Writers Write series, email me at kristinoffilerwrites@gmail.com!

What is your writing space like?

In a room that’s shaped like a large shoebox (13’ X 6’), I sit at my desk where four windows provide me a view of a 63-acre private estate. A stone wall separates the estate from my property where wild turkeys, deer, fox, coyotes, rabbits, and woodchucks roam the woods. This view of Mother Nature allows my mottled mind to relax then wander, so it’s free to create unforgettable characters, in-depth storylines, and transport my readers to a place they’ve never been before. I often daydream about knights on horseback and animals that transform themselves into humans, like the dark turkeys that gather on my lawn remind me of a witches’ coven.

I listen to Cinemix on my computer, a station that features movie soundtracks like Gladiator, Russia House, Braveheart, Tuck Everlasting, and The Last of The Mohicans. Soundtracks set a mood for me and I find them inspirational and thought provoking.

What’s something unique and interesting about your writing space? / If you could have any writing space in the world, what would it look like and why?

In this writing refuge, I’m surrounded by manuscripts, three bookcases, and a bulletin board filled with post its of inspiration. Lucky charms and statuettes like the Angel of Patience and my grandfather’s pipe, sit on the windowsill. Only one more thing would make my literary haven perfection; the sight and sound of a mighty ocean with frothy waves that peak and splash over the stone wall.

Do you keep a writing routine? If so, what is your routine?

I try to write most Wednesday and Friday afternoons, Saturday and Sunday mornings, and on the train from Andover to Boston three days a week. My weekend mornings often stretch out until late afternoon after which I need a nap because my head is so full of scenes and dialogue and vivid descriptions. I work on two to three projects at a time to allow myself the perspective I need.

Christine Bagley is a fiction writer from Massachusetts. She holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Lesley University and teaches English composition to foreign national students. In her writing, she’s particularly interested in serious, often tragic subjects injected with wry humor. At this time, she has five stories in submission. 

9 thoughts on “Where Writers Write: Christine Bagley”

  1. I’m loving this blog series of yours! It’s so fun to go back and read them all. I just moved into my new place last month, but once I’ve finished organizing/touching up my writing space, I’d be really interested in participating (currently, I have a desk and shelves, but no chair . . .)!

    Like

  2. These posts have inspired me to give my writing space a makeover! My new chair has just been delivered and I’m picking up a new desk this weekend. Once I have it sorted, I would love to show it off to you!🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

