Where Writers Write: Jennifer Gargotto

This week’s Where Writers Write post features uber-talented Jennifer Gargotto. Enjoy this glimpse into her writing space, and remember– if you want to be featured in the Where Writers Write series, email me at kristinoffilerwrites@gmail.com.

I think every writer has a special relationship with their space. The thing about writing is that you can do it anywhere, so with that freedom comes great responsibility. No, not really, but it does leave a lot of options.

I’ve never really enjoyed working in coffee shops. I hate having to pack everything up every time I need to pee, as well as paying $3.00 for a cup of tea (hey, that rhymed! How Dr. Seussian of me). I really prefer being in my own little scattered space at home, with a full tea pot and endless cold water. I like to play my music loud, take a bath when I get chilly, and take afternoon breaks to go to yoga. I spend the day reading, brainstorming, making videos, writing posts, and bugging my boyfriend, Chase, online while he’s at work to help me with my sites (he’s a developer and a graphic designer, so his skills really come in handy).

Today I have three websites and an online course, so, in addition to those and freelance articles, guest posts, and the occasional interview I have more writing than I can keep up with. I find the more projects I have going on, the more I become a green-tea-drinking stressball, but also the happier I am, the more creative I am, and the better my work is (weird how that works, isn’t it?). 

With writing, you have to pick your moments. When I write for MsMorphosis, which is really personal and deals with really emotional issues, I like to talk to my audience with the openness and entertaining-ness of a conversation I’d have with an old girlfriend over a few too many glasses of wine – so that impacts when and how I write. I often choose to write those posts later in the evening, with an actual glass of wine, once my businesses and obligations are taken care of and I’m just relaxing with Bella and Chase. When I write for Blogging Fearlessly, the work is much more technical, so I prefer to work on it when I’m full of caffeine, alert, and on my A-game.

If you’re a writer, then your writing really has to be an extension who you are. The best way, I’ve found, to do it is to be comfortable in yourself, be comfortable when you’re working, and keep striving to be your best self. Have a writing space that reflects you. The more authentic it is, the better your work will be. I guarantee it.

What is your writing space like?

My writing space is a bit of chaos, but it’s organized chaos. The walls are filled with pictures, artwork, and lots of inspirational quotes (I guess you could say this room is the original MsQuotations). I have stacks and stacks of books and magazines, because I just can’t keep up (and reading is the most important part of being a writer!). I am big on graphs, outlines, and brainstorming – and I’m big on surrounding myself by these ideas, dreams, and visions. I have a bed for Bella, my pomeranian and the best cubicle-mate ever (ok, we work from home, but she’s still more than I deserve). The mug on my desk is for green tea, which I drink by the gallon while I work. I’m also in a Canada Dry sparking water phase ever since I gave up diet coke, so I’m drinking that by the (enormous) bottle as well.

Do you keep a writing routine?  If so, what is your routine?

Hmmm… yes and no. I have deadlines – Monday interviews for Blogging Fearlessly, two posts a week on each Blogging Fearlessly and MsMorphosis, regular newsletters, guest posts, and content creation for my course that I’m launching this summer; Love, Sex, and Blogging. I also do the occasional freelance article, so that needs to be on a calendar too.  Besides that, my routine is to waddle over from my bedroom to this desk everyday, get up occasionally for tea/water/food/yoga, and besides that just sit here until the work is done (sometimes by 6 pm, often until 9).

What’s something unique and interesting about your writing space?

For better or worse, it’s the fullest expression of me. I literally live in this little room, and there’s more magic that happens here than anywhere else in my (professional) life. I love having my own quiet work space, and I’m honored to live in a time where we can make a living writing from home and creating things.

 If you could have any writing space in the world, what would it look like and why?

If I could have any writing space in the world it would either be a little cottage in the south of France or a treehouse in the middle of a forest somewhere. I’ve always been fascinated by treehouses!

On a much more realistic note, my boyfriend and I are moving into a little house in a few months where we’re going to put together a far more structured office (with bookshelves and adult things like that) so that will be wonderful. Sharing the work I love in a (more organized space) with the person I love? It doesn’t get much better than that.

Jennifer Gargotto is a blogger, vlogger, writer and entrepreneur living in Denver, Colorado. She’s the writer and founder of MsMorphosis.comMsQuotations.com, and BloggingFearlessly.com – so if you’re interested in personal development, inspirational quotes, or growing personally or professionally online she’s your girl. Her current obsession is building her Sex, Love, and Blogging course – about discovering your passions and leveraging them to make money, build relationships, and fall in love with life – which is getting ready for release in summer 2012. If this sounds like something you could be into, get on the list at sexandblogging.com.

1 thought on “Where Writers Write: Jennifer Gargotto”

Leave a Reply

