Changes, Baby. Changes

This blog as taken on many forms over the past year and a half. And believe it or not, I’m still not quite sure what this little corner of the internet is supposed to be.

What I can tell you is that I’m not going to write about freelance writing a whole lot anymore. Why? Because I’m not focused on freelancing anymore. I’ve joined an amazing company and I’m doing work that I really love– work that allows me to use my writing skills, my creativity, and my heart.

Interestingly enough, one of the great things about shifting away from the sometimes difficult & uncertain world of freelancing is that I feel freer to explore specific creative ventures. Weird, since I always thought freelancing would be the career that would nurture my creative side.

Instead, it actually kind of stifled me because I never quite felt like I had made it.

Now, I’m working on my fiction again. I’m reading more. I’m relaxing. But I’m also working harder than ever, and feeling the rewards from that in a way my freelance gigs never really fulfilled.

I don’t feel like I ever hit my sweet spot with freelancing. I gave it a great try, but I never rocked it to the point that I was happy and making the money I wanted to be making.

So now I’m in a different, but really positive and wonderful place.

And I think this blog needs to start reflecting that. There are so many things I love, like writing, personal style, home design, creativity (and what it means to be creative), photography, interesting places, beautiful things (as general as that is).

So, you’re welcome to stay or leave now that my blog is changing.

You can expect to still see posts about writing, of course, but I’m also going to start stretching myself. I’m going to dabble in outfit posts (budget-friendly duds for cheapskates with a love for style), as well as posts about home decor, great books, fabulous pictures, and fun, quirky finds, like neat websites and great articles or blog posts. I’ll also write about novel and short story writing (finding time, tapping into creativity, pushing past resistance), and the whole MFA debate. Is it worth the time & money? Do you really need an MFA? I have a lot of thoughts on this topic, which you’ll see down the road.

So rather than being a meandering blog about just writing, this will be a blog rich with lifestyle & writing topics. Less pressure to be writing about freelancing in a formulaic way, and more fun, more reflective of where I am in life right now.

And hopefully, a lot of fun to read as well.

To kick things off, I’ve got an outfit post coming tomorrow. The pictures aren’t great quality, and it feels kind of awkward to post photos of myself, but it’s also exciting to share my style here and talk about the things in my closet that help make me me.

So there ya have it. Welcome to this new place! Or goodbye, if it doesn’t sound like your cup of tea. But I hope you’ll stay and check it out! I think it’s going to be a lot of fun.

Whata ya say? Want to give it a go with me?


6 thoughts on “Changes, Baby. Changes”

  1. I love having a full-time job where all the time after work is MY time to write whatever I want. I’m not sure freelancing would be good for my personal author/writer career goals; I’d never feel like I was “done” working. Glad to hear you’re writing some fiction again! Hope it keeps flowing :]

    Like

    1. Agreed! I thought I was doing myself a favor by making writing my main focus by freelancing, but it led to fiction-neglect. And that is never good!

      Thanks for leaving a comment & reading. So psyched to have you here🙂

      Like

      1. I lovelovelove your writing space blog series. Wouldn’t leave for the world!

        I FINALLY got my own writing space in order recently and would love to contribute a post to the series if you have room/interest in the lineup!

        Like

Leave a Reply

